Paloma Negra, where have you flown?

PALOMA NEGRA by Miha MazziniNot until the English-language edition of Miha Mazzini’s novel Paloma Negra was scheduled for publication by Open Books did I give much thought to the music that plays through the story. I had never explored Mariachi music, which is said to have originated in the Mexican states of Jalisco and Nayarit. Paloma Negra is set in Yugoslavia in a subsequent century, during a Mexican music craze that lasted there for about a decade. El Financiero cites Mazzini’s documentary film about the phenomenon of Yu-Mex music, explaining that Yugoslavia “broke off relations with the Soviet Union and turned to Mexico to provide entertainment productions containing music and action, in addition to messages such as ‘Long live the revolution.’ ”

When I discovered bop.fm, I wanted to test the selection of available recordings, so I assembled a shareable playlist of songs that seemed to fit the mood of this extraordinary novel. I let several websites recommend potentially relevant music and performers. A musicologist’s playlist would be much more informative, but instead, this multicultural sampler is Robin-filtered. I’d love to listen to your musical interpretation of this book. If you create a playlist for Paloma Negra, I’ll be delighted to add yours to this post.

Track listing for Paloma Negra

1. Paloma Negra
I concentrated first on the ranchera “Paloma Negra,” composed by Tomás Méndez and performed best by the late Chavela Vargas, who was born in Costa Rica but lived most of her life in Mexico. If you listen to only one of the five songs on the playlist, it should be this one, which was used in the soundtrack for the 2002 film Frida.

2. Ljubimac Zena
Ljubimac Zena” is one of the popular Yugoslav-Mexican songs performed by the Serbian singer Ljubomir Milić’s trio, Paloma, in the 1960s.

3. Luz de Luna
My favorite version of “Luz de Luna,” which translates as moonlight or light of the moon, comes from U.S.-born Araceli Collazo and Paloma Negra, lately of Monterrey, Mexico. The song was written by the Mexican composer and songwriter Álvaro Carrillo.

4. Love Sick
Mariachi El Bronx’s cover of Bob Dylan’s “Love Sick” is the only Mariachi tune I own. It’s jaw-dropping. (Of course, you might prefer the version used in the Victoria’s Secret commercial.)

5. Paris, Texas
I watched Wim Wenders’ 1984 film Paris, Texas recently. The soundtrack suited it perfectly. The Paris-based trio Gotan Project, whose members are Argentine, French, and Swiss, recorded Ry Cooder’s music for the movie’s bleak title track, which was influenced by Blind Willie Johnson’s gospel blues “Dark Was the Night, Cold Was the Ground,” another of the songs featured. Parallels in the tragic lives of the characters in the film Paris, Texas and the novel Paloma Negra made this stark, moody instrumental my selection for the concluding track. I hope you enjoy listening.

mourning doveImage adapted from Bird Studies: An Account of the Land Birds of Eastern North America by William E.D. Scott (1898)

7 Replies to “Paloma Negra, where have you flown?”

  1. What lovely post, thank you for this honor of including me in your list. I appreciate your connection to my music in our rendition of Luz de Luna. One of my all time favorite songs to ever perform. Thank you so much for this and thanks to my husband, Saul Escobedo, for finding your blog.

  2. How thoughtful of you, Araceli. I’d love to return the favor by sending you a copy of Miha Mazzini’s novel. When I’m back at my computer next week, I will send you an email message so we can exchange mailing addresses.

  3. A Spanish translation is a terrific idea. We can discuss this further via email next week. By the way, my email address is mail@robinmizell.com. I should point out, also, that bop.fm went out of business, so it’s no longer hosting the playlist I posted on its website.

    I’ll look forward to corresponding with you next week.

Leave a Comment

