Hooked me in to reading: A Wrinkle in Time

A WRINKLE IN TIME by Madeleine L'EngleDay 24: Who can recall the first book that served as a gateway drug? I don’t, because surely it was a book that was read to me when I was a toddler. My memory’s not that good.

By age nine, I was making many solitary trips to the public library in search of all the juvenile reading material I could lug home. Around that time, one of my teachers read to our class in daily installments A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle’s science fantasy novel for children. The coincidence makes me think the book might have been a significant catalyst.

Madeleine L’Engle wrote more than fifty other books, a few of which I read as the years passed. It’s nice to know there are plenty to enjoy.

BookADay-The Borough Press

Leave a Reply

