Bought on a recommendation: The Red Tent

THE RED TENT by Anita DiamantDay 18: Reviewers often influence me to buy a book. I watch for their latest commentaries and find Laura Miller at Salon and Maria Popova of Brain Pickings to be reliable tastemakers.

The book I immediately think of as one I bought on a recommendation, however, was suggested by a friend who read and liked it. I started Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent but wasn’t sufficiently intrigued to finish. I’m sure I remember it so clearly only because I put it in permanent limbo.

Have you read The Red Tent? What did you like about it?

Are you planning to watch the Lifetime TV miniseries adaptation of the novel?

BookADay-The Borough Press

5 thoughts on “Bought on a recommendation: The Red Tent

  1. Elaine Marolakos Edelson

    Robin, I read ‘The Red Tent’ and absolutely LOVED IT. I felt the women’s toil. Could somehow relate to their experiences. Appreciated the writing and descriptions. I was pulled into the story from the start. When our daughter began menarche, I welcomed her to the ‘Red Tent.’

  2. Robin Mizell Post author

    I really should watch the miniseries when it airs, so I’ll know what I missed. Thanks for your comment, Elaine. The Red Tent has been an enduring favorite of many readers.

  3. swiveltam

    Interesting that you put it down. I read it twice. The first time on a recommendation, the second for my book club. I’m curious which part lost you? Another that I liked equally as well and maybe not quite as popular, “In the Shadow of the Ark,” by Anne Provost.Same kind of historical fiction retelling from a unique perspective.

    ~Tam Francis~
    http://www.girlinthejitterbugdress.com

  4. Robin Mizell Post author

    It certainly seemed like a book I’d enjoy. I loved Annabel Lyon’s novels, The Golden Mean and The Sweet Girl, Elizabeth Cook’s Achilles, and Mary Renault’s The Bull from the Sea. Even a recommendation algorithm would have suggested I read The Red Tent, but I don’t recall getting beyond the first chapter. I hadn’t heard of In the Shadow of the Ark. Thanks for mentioning it.

Leave a Reply

