The books that have stayed with me

This is my response to Robert Gray’s status update on Facebook today. I’ve hijacked it. This blog feeds automatically to my Facebook profile and Google+, so my list will wander back where it belongs and elsewhere.

red and gold gift

  Photo courtesy of Davide Guglielmo


Feel free to comment here, or follow the meme’s instructions and post your list on Facebook, or do both!

Then, get to know Shelf Awareness, if you aren’t already a subscriber. It’s free. Gray is an editor and columnist for the book trade publication. You’ll appreciate his considerate, intelligent, reliable, and always lovely commentary.

In your status line, list 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take more than a few minutes and don’t think too hard—they don’t have to be “right” or “great” works, just ones that have touched you. Tag 10 friends, including me, so I’ll see your list. I am sure I have forgotten hundreds that I will regret once I post this and tomorrow’s list might differ from today’s, but here goes:

The Vagabond by Colette

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

Paper Trails: True Stories of Confusion, Mindless Violence, and Forbidden Desires, a Surprising Number of Which Are Not About Marriage by Pete Dexter

Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry

For the Win by Cory Doctorow

Night by Elie Wiesel

Dreams of My Russian Summers by Andreï Makine

Strange Pilgrims by Gabriel Garcí­a Márquez

Guess How Much I Love You by Sam McBratney

The Red Pony by John Steinbeck

This is my list today and not listed in order, just listed.

To see Robert Gray’s own list of titles, go to his Facebook profile.

This meme is much nicer, I think, than the “best of” lists and promotional campaigns, which I see every day, especially at this time of year. I confess that I always pay closer attention to Gray’s Facebook posts than to the same pieces published elsewhere. It’s a natural tendency. What do you make of that?

6 thoughts on “The books that have stayed with me

  1. Anonymous

    When I finished chpt 2 of Lonesome Dove, I wondered if ANYONE was going to be alive at the end. It was a grand–scope story, and the TV version was true to the book.

  2. Robin Mizell Post author

    I didn’t think it would be possible to adapt Lonesome Dove for television until I saw it and was duly impressed. Ah, now I’ve checked to see who directed it and discovered that you’re in his home town. What a terrific list of credits.

  3. Mike

    The list that immediately comes to my mind resembles mac-and-cheese. Or perhaps Swiss cheese. Or perhaps it’s just cheesy.

  4. Robin Mizell Post author

    Well, I was attacked by one in a dark alley many years ago. I shall tell you the outcome on a back channel; it wasn’t pretty but it was precise.

Leave a Reply

