Georgia publishers

I’ll be serving as one of the manuscript evaluators at the Harriette Austin Writers Conference in Athens, Georgia, on Saturday, July 23, 2011. I live in Athens, Ohio, so it’ll be interesting to visit a Southern city also called Athens.

It seemed like a good idea to take along a list of publishers in Georgia, so I might discuss them with conference attendees. Then, I realized that posting the list online was smarter. I don’t categorize publishers by their locations, so looking at this group gives me a fresh perspective of my weekend destination.

Book publishers

Anvil Publishers, Inc.
Tucker, GA
BelleBooks
Smyrna, GA
Brick Road Poetry Press
Columbus, GA
Chalice Press
Christian Board of Publication
Atlanta, GA
Frederic C. Beil, Publisher
Savannah, GA
Gryphonwood Press
Grayson, GA
Hundreds of Heads Books & West Hills Press
Atlanta, GA
Mercer University Press
Mercer University
Macon, GA
Mercury Retrograde Press
Atlanta, GA
Pathfinder Press
Atlanta, GA
Peachtree Publishers
Atlanta, GA
The Saltmarsh Press
St. Simons Island, GA
Samhain Publishing
Macon, GA
Sea Lion Books
Acworth, GA
Snake Nation Press
Valdosta, GA
Stroud & Hall Publishers
Macon, GA
Tinwood
Atlanta, GA
Top Shelf Productions
Marietta, GA
University of Georgia Press
University of Georgia
Athens, GA
University Press of North Georgia
North Georgia College & State University
Dahlonega, GA
Whale Tale Press
Atlanta, GA

Self-publishing | Custom publishing

Five Stones Press
Atlanta, GA
Riverbend Books
Atlanta, GA
Wolfmont LLC
Ranger, GA
Wool Street Publishing
St. Simons Island, GA

Literary magazines

Arts & Letters
Georgia College & State University
Milledgeville, GA
Aunt Chloe: A Journal of Artful Candor (formerly Focus Magazine)
Spelman College
Atlanta, GA
Avatar Review
Roswell, GA
The Chattahoochee Review
Georgia Perimeter College
Dunwoody, GA
The Chestatee Review
Gainesville State College
Oakwood, GA
The Georgia Review
University of Georgia
Athens, GA
Literary Savannah
Williams & Company, Publishers
Savannah, GA
Mandala Journal
Institute for African American Studies at the University of Georgia
Athens, GA
New South
Georgia State University
Atlanta, GA
Old Red Kimono (ORK)
Georgia Highlands College
Rome, GA
Pismire (poetry podcast)
Oakwood, GA
Snake Nation Review
Snake Nation Press
Valdosta, GA
Southern Poetry Review
Armstrong Atlantic State University
Savannah, GA
Stillpoint
University of Georgia
Athens, GA
Tributaries
Dalton State College
Dalton, GA
The Write Room
Marietta, GA

6 thoughts on “Georgia publishers

  1. Robin Mizell Post author

    Wolfmont LLC is the parent company. Wolfmont Press is one of its imprints. The company also offers creative and marketing services tailored to its clients’ needs, under the name Wolf Mountain Creative. The Wolfmont LLC link will take you directly to the information about all of the company’s businesses, but unfortunately there was no direct link to the custom publishing arm. Maybe it’s a new endeavor that was launched after your stories were published. Many publishers, large and small, have been branching out into custom publishing, which can be a profitable sideline.

  2. Sylvia Dickey Smith

    Wolfmont–yes, Tony is a great guy! Does good work and seems to be reliable. I’ve had some dealings with him over the years and he’s the real deal.

    Oh, and by the way, Robin, I’ve got a new blog address I’m leaving for you–since the old one is now inactive.

    Have fun in Georgia. I’m jealous–my daughter and family live near there.

  3. Alissa Woodring

    Hey. My name is Alissa Woodring. I am sixteen years old and I have been writing my own books for about three years. I started writing after I read the Twilight series, way after the first movie came out. I was obsessed with Vampires and ended up writing a vampire, which later I read and asked myself why I hadn’t thrown it away. The more I read the more supernatural books I wrote. I have just finished the a five book series and I want nothing more to publish it after I revise it. I have been looking everywhere for publisher and editors and I would like some advice/help on where I should start my career as an author.

  4. Robin Mizell Post author

    As a mother, I’m biased regarding career advice for a sixteen-year-old, so bear that in mind.

    First, get your high school diploma. Second, go to college. While you’re completing your education, you’ll learn research skills and have plenty of opportunities to conduct research into a career as a novelist. You’ll also meet authors who can tell you of their experiences getting published, all of which will be unique.

    After you’ve finished writing the first book in your series, you’ll want to find a reliable, frank critique partner or critique group. Until you’ve obtained critical feedback on your writing and then revised your manuscript several more times, it won’t be ready to show to a literary agent or a traditional publisher.

    Meanwhile, as a jumping-off point in your process of learning all you can about book publishing, take a look at Jane Friedman’s infographic showing the 4 Key Book Publishing Paths. You’ll find a lot of excellent information on Jane’s blog. You also can read the resources listed on my website. Your local library will have some excellent books on the topic, and the librarians will be happy to help you find and borrow them to conduct your research.

    Good luck!

    Update: Jane Friedman’s The Key Book Publishing Paths in 2015

Leave a Reply

