Your childhood dream job

wrapping
Image courtesy of Jade Gordon
As soon as I became a teenager, I couldn’t wait to be old enough to apply for a part-time job that didn’t involve babysitting or a paper route. I had skills. I wanted to put them to use.

My favorite fantasy involved working at the gift wrap counter in one of the big department stores in the mall that was about a mile from my house. Yep. No career goal was too exalted for my youthful imagination.

Eventually, I started to think it would be fun to interview people.

What’s your earliest memory involving career aspirations? Did you end up with a job that your inner child enjoys?

4 Replies to “Your childhood dream job”

  1. Hi Robin! Believe it or not, I too wanted to get to work as a teenager. My first job as a bagboy at our local grocery store led to my interest in writing. I carried a spiral notebook with me and would write during my breaks and after work. For fear of anyone finding and reading my notebook at work or at home, I wrote fiction. That way if I ever felt the need, I could always say, “I made it up.” :)

  2. Hi, John. I hope you’re enjoying your Thanksgiving break from the classroom. Do you recall who inspired you to keep a notebook? Did someone set an example for you?

  3. My eighth grade English teacher required writing notebooks. We could write whatever we wanted as long as we wrote something every day. I wrote poetry and personal reflections. My teacher’s feedback was conversational rather than critical and definitely inspirational.

    In high school, I loved learning how John Steinbeck kept a journal while living with a family of farmers and writing The Grapes of Wrath. With his open notebook, I think he wrote reality on the right side and fiction on the left. I have never done this, but it did teach me that some writers are as observant as they are imaginative.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  4. The authenticity of the little details is what keeps us immersed in the fiction. There’s a lot going on in a good novel that even the best literary critics are not able to explain completely. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to teach creative writing students.

Leave a Comment

