A little R & R before I get back to work

reader
It’s time to do a little gardening and reading for pleasure after a long season of hard work.

Though I haven’t purchased it yet, one of the books I’ve been wanting to read is Malcolm Gladwell’s Outliers: The Story of Success. It’s good to keep coming back to the concept of the 10,000-Hour Rule, which Gladwell claims is the common factor to which success in any field can be attributed. According to the rule, we require 20 hours of practice per week for 10 years to excel at the skills we want to develop.

So, after a brief pause, I’ll get back down to business.

2 thoughts on “A little R & R before I get back to work

  1. Robin Mizell Post author

    I think I have about 4,000 hours to go, but I wasn’t counting. (laughing) Gladwell also noticed that successful people are products of fortunate circumstances, which include useful social connections. Persistence is just one factor.

    Looks like a good day to plant sunflowers…

Leave a Reply

