National Poetry Month (I like it.)

The Academy of American Poets championed National Poetry Month, celebrated every April for the joy and commerce of it. During the rest of the year, I depend on Poetry Daily for my hit, but this month I can have a poem emailed to me every day by Poets.org or Knopf, so I indulge.

Today, Knopf Poetry’s email is an excerpt from the book Poetry in Person: Twenty-five Years of Conversation with America’s Poets. From audio recordings of Pearl London’s classroom discussions with poets, held at the New School, the book’s editor, Alexander Neubauer, recreates the sessions on craft. In one, Derek Walcott tells London, “This is going to be very detailed, what I’m going to say: I don’t like that line anymore.” Read on to find out why.

[Updated on April 15, 2010] Thanks to a link provided by Neubauer, here is his video trailer for the book:

Brian Brodeur carries on the discussion of process with the poets he interviews on his excellent blog How a Poem Happens.

And if April tempts the rest of us to start thinking of poets as happy people, Jim Behrle exposes the “furious halo of anger and hunger” in his commentary “24/7 Relentless Careerism,” which was reprinted on the Poetry Foundation’s website last month.

National Poetry Month - April 2010

3 Replies to “National Poetry Month (I like it.)”

  1. Thank you, Robin, for including my Poetry in Person in your review of National Poetry month. I love the daily emails, too–even when I’m not part of them. Both is even better. But if you want a short video about the book, including some audio of the poet’s conversations, here it is:

    With thanks again,

    Alex Neubauer

  2. Page, I’ve hyperlinked your comment about your article on National Poetry Month. I suspect poetry can be a guy magnet too.

    What a wonderfully effective trailer! I’ve embedded it in the post, Alex. Thanks for pointing me to it.

Leave a Comment

