Not my style

It sounds arrogant, I admit, but my writing style just won’t conform to Twitter’s limitations. It was incredibly generous of Christina Katz to invite me to participate in her #platformchat yesterday, and I appreciated the experience. Thoroughly. I’ll probably tune in to observe future sessions. However, as I’m an overly earnest, incredibly dry, and boring writer. Twitter threatens to make me seem trendy, and that’s frightening.

About once every five years I say something that makes sense using 140 characters or less. Usually, it’s because I’m quoting something I just read. I’m all for reiterating those pithy insights and obscure phrases every chance I get in person. Outside the context of a meaningful discussion, they don’t have much substance, not to mention the fact that I’ve already forgotten what they really mean or whether other people said them first.

“It’s fundamental attribution error.”

“You’ve pulled back the anime shower curtain.”

I think you get the picture. When I overhear someone giving a glib answer to a complex question, it can sound a lot like nails on a chalkboard. So, while I hope to develop a few handy mentoring skills over the next couple of decades, most of the time I’d rather leave the swapping of aphorisms to those more qualified for the job.

Fortunately, the sheer magnitude of opinion on the Web always provides, at just the right moment, precisely what I need to reinforce my confidence in the conclusions of my inner child. Via one of my favorite curators of Web content, Arts & Letters Daily, comes P.J. O’Rourke in the Weekly Standard asking, “What if writing were like TV?

Join me in lurking at a future #platformchat. The next one is scheduled for July 24, 2009, at 11:00 a.m. PST. Details can be found on Christina Katz’s Get Known Before the Book Deal blog.

I’ve been known to recommend Christina’s book to my clients, and not just because she’s my friend.

[Updated on July 11, 2009] Thanks to David for correcting my grammatical error in the first paragraph. If only he’d been around to edit my Twitter session. (smiling)

2 Replies to “Not my style”

  1. I think you have it down more than you think. “When I overhear someone giving a glib answer to a complex question, it can sound a lot like nails on a chalkboard.” That would be less than 140 characters. It should be your next tweet. ;-)

    I enjoyed the P.J. O’Rourke essay. Thanks for linking it.

  2. I know this won’t suit your taste in music, Mike, but it’s a parody, and it could be considered loosely related to this post.

    (Via Mr. Misdiagnosed & Admitted)

Leave a Comment

