She’s under there

Today, you can find me (virtually) on the other side of the globe, in New South Wales, Australia, where the day is almost over. I’m happy to be the guest blogger on Marsha Durham’s Writing Companion, where I talk more about interviewing Blake Snyder, the author of Save the Cat! The Last Book on Screenwriting You’ll Ever Need which (as it turns out) is only the first of his series of excellent books for scriptwriters.

Marsha Durham is a writing workshop instructor, author, linguist, and bushwalker who lives in the upper Blue Mountains west of Sydney. She’s also in charge of the library at Varuna, the very cool writers’ retreat in Katoomba. As a blogger, Marsha encourages writers around the world with story prompts, technical tips, and practical advice. The Writing Companion is there for you when you need some inspiration.

2 thoughts on “She’s under there

  1. Marsha

    Hi Robin,
    I loved your interview with Blake. Structure is one of the most difficult fiction elements for some writers to master. His ‘beat sheet’ provides a useful structure for them to try out as part of creating and analysing their material.

    I laughed when I saw your photo of the Aussie possums. They LOOK so lovable! But in areas frequented by hikers, they concentrate on trying to relieve us of our food. When hiking in Tasmania last year, I had sleepless nights because the possums kept trying to bite/claw through my tent walls to get at my supplies.
    Marsha

  2. Robin Mizell Post author

    Marsha!

    You’re intrepid. How was the Larapinta Trail? It looks a little like parts of Arizona. Did you complete the entire track?

    As you can tell, I’ve become one of Blake Snyder’s many fans. If I ever decide to try my hand at fiction, I’ll have his books at hand. A novice can’t afford to take any chances.

Leave a Reply

