Poetry is borderless

Breathlessly, but before National Poetry Month concludes, let me point out the Poetry International Web, one of the newest additions to my blogroll. (Yes, I know my blogroll is becoming tediously longer than the norm. I’ve allowed my enthusiasm to overtake user-friendliness. Like the stereotypical newly converted, I’m reluctant to apologize for my excesses.)

The Poetry International Web is devoted to poetry news, interviews, video, audio, and discussion. More than two dozen countries, each with its own national editor and board of directors, contribute poems in the original language and in English translation. Each country has a separate domain attached to the site.

In the Netherlands, the Poetry International Web Foundation and the Poetry International Foundation share a board of directors and a manager who are also responsible for the 39th Poetry International Festival, to be held June 7-13, 2008, in the Schouwburg in Rotterdam.

I learned of the Poetry International Web when I read the Leicester Review of Books’ recent post “A Different Window on Zimbabwe.”

Leave a Reply

