A sedate holiday

When my daughter was three years old, I dressed her for Christmas in white eyelet and black velvet. Her weightless blonde hair was like duck down. She squirmed and squealed with wide-eyed anticipation and wanted to open everyone’s gifts for them. Her excitement couldn’t be contained. It’s a wonder she has such self-control now. It must take a lot of strength to rein in all that enthusiasm, to wait your turn, to behave yourself.

Between that day and now, 21 years have passed. This is the first time my daughter and I have been apart at Christmas. I’ve nearly forgotten how, during one long December road trip, she drove us crazy by endlessly looping Ace of Base’s hit single. Almost forgiven is the holiday when she shattered a bottle of Chanel N°5 while energetically waving goodbye to her boyfriend from the upstairs bathroom window at 2:00 a.m.

I went for a long walk just before nightfall, and no neighbor’s car careened past, young man protruding from the window to bellow her name. She wasn’t there to roll her eyes and try not to laugh. Tonight there are 500 miles between us.

5 thoughts on “A sedate holiday

  1. Hilary

    awww, this almost made me cry… i didn’t even realize it’s our first christmas apart. honestly, it doesn’t even feel like christmas today. i suppose that’s what i get for moving south where i can wear flip-flops year-round and for working in a business where i’ve seen santa claus walk by my store every day since before thanksgiving… kinda wears out the christmas spirit.

    by the way, thanks for calling me out for breaking your perfume… at least i replaced it (eventually, lol).

    <3
    Hil

  2. Anonymom

    Oh how this makes me ache knowing the years will pass too quickly for my liking! My oldest is almost five now and she promises to live with me forever, to marry little Ari from her class and stay in her periwinkle room above the garage. Sweet as can be, to know they love you that much. May your daughter be home soon.

  3. Julia

    Ace of Base is like a tattoo in my mind.
    I don’t think I’ll ever get it out!
    It is under her lock and key!!!!!!!!
    But I can forgive her for that just as I have forgiven you on the same trip for the ‘stranger danger’. ;-) Good times . . . . . . .
    Cheers to you!

  4. Robin Mizell Post author

    Hi, Julia! Thanks for the Slide video greeting. I enjoyed the pictures of your extended family. Tell those who know me I said hello.

    I’d completely forgotten the stranger, but I think you’re exaggerating the danger. (laughing) I happened to come across the photographs of that trip while I was scanning images for Facebook. Someday we should all return for that sailboat excursion we couldn’t take during hurricane season. Luke can provide the music.

Leave a Reply

